Supervisors begin talks to form new mental health region - KTIV News 4 Sioux City IA: News, Weather and Sports

Supervisors begin talks to form new mental health region


A number of Northwest Iowa counties are trying to enact a new model for mental health care.

Last July, the Iowa legislature approved a change designed to equalize mental health services across the state.  There will be one mental health tax levy rate implemented across all 99 counties.

Counties will have to form, or join, a region with a mental health center, and to offer psychiatric services.  Woodbury County Supervisors say they are now in talks with Plymouth, Sioux, and Cherokee Counties to form a region.

"So we thought it would be best for us to sit down and discuss with the other three counties that I have mentioned, because they indicated an interest in working with Woodbury County. And we're looking at a 20 year agreement and how it's going to work among ourselves," 1st District, Woodbury County Supervisor George Boykin said.

The deadline for Iowa counties to form or join a region is April 1, 2013.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KTIV Television Inc. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Kathy Clayton at (712) 239-4100 x209. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at