Results for South Sioux City Council and Dakota City Mayor - KTIV News 4 Sioux City IA: News, Weather and Sports

Results for South Sioux City Council and Dakota City Mayor


A couple of big races in Dakota County, Nebraska Tuesday night.

One, for Dakota City mayor.  The other, for South Sioux city council.

Folks gathered in a Dakota County courtroom to wait for results, which came in a bit later than usual.

The numbers showed three incumbents, Dan Bousquet, Oscar Gomez, and Jason Bowman would retain their seats in the South Sioux City Council, with Stephanie Dahl filling another seat.

Jerry Yacevich became the new Dakota City mayor, defeating Randy Groetken.

Yacevich says he's ready to get to work for his community.

"There's a lot of things that need work done. It's any city. You know, your inter-structure stuff, the water, the wastewater, roads. That's always kind of the number one priority. You always want to bring businesses in to town and just make sure everybody's growing in the right direction," said Jerry Yacevich, newly elected Dakota City mayor.

Yacevich replace former mayor Jim Roberts, who decided not to run for re-election.

Yacevich spent the past 11 years as Dakota City's fire chief.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KTIV Television Inc. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Kathy Clayton at (712) 239-4100 x209. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at