Tri-state voter turnout numbers - KTIV News 4 Sioux City IA: News, Weather and Sports

Tri-state voter turnout numbers


Iowans set a record for turnout in a presidential election on Tuesday, and the percentage of registered voters casting ballots is the highest in 20 years.

The presidential race drew 1,558,252 voters, exceeding by 14,000 the previous high mark set in 2008.

Turnout was 72 percent, the highest figure since more than 80 percent of voters turned out in the 1992 election between Bill Clinton and George H.W. Bush. Turnout was just over 71 percent in 2004 and 2008.

Iowa had nearly 2.2 million registered voters on Election Day.

The figures could change since several precincts reported significant voter registrations at the polls.

Iowa Secretary of State spokesman Chad Olsen says voter turnout could change as well since 22 precincts had still not reported totals as of Wednesday afternoon.

Officials estimate that 67 percent of Nebraska's voters participated in Tuesday's election.

That means voter turnout fell short of the 71 percent that Secretary of State John Gale predicted beforehand.

The Nebraska turnout was smaller than the 71 percent that voted in 2008, but close to the 68 percent turnout the state recorded in the 2004 presidential election.

Voter turnout was highest in Sioux County where 80 percent of the eligible voters cast ballots.

Several other counties all reported turnout figures between 75 percent and 80 percent. Those were: Thomas, Arthur, Grant, Blaine, Logan, McPherson, Garfield, Hamilton, Keya Paha, Banner, Rock, Sherman.

The lowest voter turnout in the state was in Thurston County where just 47 percent voted.

The South Dakota turn was 70 percent according to Secretary of State, Jason Gant.

South Dakota Democrats started this year's campaign with high hopes and ran hard-fought campaigns.

But when the votes were counted Tuesday, Republicans had once again swept the state's elections.

Republican Rep. Kristi Noem defeated Democratic challenger Matt Varilek to win a second term as south Dakota's lone member of the U.S. House. The GOP also held onto its seats on the Public Utilities Commission and kept its strong majorities in both chambers of the Legislature.

Mitt Romney won South Dakota's three electoral votes with 58 percent of the vote, even though President Barack Obama won the national race. Top officials in both parties say Republicans motivated to vote by their dislike of Obama also helped elect GOP candidates in races farther down the ballot.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KTIV Television Inc. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Kathy Clayton at (712) 239-4100 x209. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at