Dubuque woman gets federal prison time after 2012 meth fire - KTIV News 4 Sioux City IA: News, Weather and Sports

Dubuque woman gets federal prison time after 2012 meth fire

Julie Uhrig Julie Uhrig

A Dubuque woman will spend more than 11 years in federal prison for a fire caused by meth manufacturing.

Peter Deegan, spokesperson for the United States Attorney's Office in the Northern District of Iowa, says Julie Uhrig, 53, was sentenced on Thursday.

Uhrig pleaded guilty on Sept. 11, 2012, to attempted manufacture of methamphetamine near a school.

Uhrig admitted that on Feb. 15, 2012, she tried to make meth at a residence on Windsor Avenue that started a fire, Deegan said.

There was a child in the home at the time of the fire and the house was within 1,000 feet of Audubon Elementary School, Deegan said.

Uhrig was caught making meth at a different home just five days after the fire.

Uhrig was sentenced to 11 years and four months in prison and was ordered to make $142,062.41 in restitution to the owner of the Windsor Avenue residence.

She will spend six years on supervised release after her prison term.

Two others -- Nickolas Clark and Dawn Richey -- have also been prosecuted in connection with the fire.

Deegan says Clark will be sentenced on Jan. 16 after pleading guilty to making false statements to investigators.

Richey pleaded guilty to aiding and abetting. Her sentencing date has not been set.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KTIV Television Inc. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Kathy Clayton at (712) 239-4100 x209. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.