Woodbury County swears in six new deputy sheriffs - KTIV News 4 Sioux City IA: News, Weather and Sports

Woodbury County swears in six new deputy sheriffs


SIOUX CITY (KTIV) - Six new Woodbury county Sheriff deputies are sworn in Monday at the Courthouse in Sioux City.

County Sheriff Dave Drew says he cannot remember a time when the county was fortunate enough to swear in six qualified candidates at once.

Each man took the oath in front of a crowd of family and friends.

One of the new deputies, Zane Chwirka has come from a long line of public servants

Sheriff Drew says the new deputies will help motivate others in the department to do better.

"I think the motivator is when you see six young guys that are physically fit it motivates us all to do a little better, eat a little less and work out a little more,"said Drew.

All the deputies sworn in will continue their training for the next several months before they hit the streets of Woodbury county.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KTIV Television Inc. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Kathy Clayton at (712) 239-4100 x209. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.