USD, Iowa, ISU & Nebraska selected to NCAA women's tourney - KTIV News 4 Sioux City IA: News, Weather and Sports


USD, Iowa, ISU & Nebraska selected to NCAA women's tourney

South Dakota will play Stanford in round one of the women's NCAA basketball tournament. South Dakota will play Stanford in round one of the women's NCAA basketball tournament.

South Dakota will make its first NCAA Division I Tournament appearance at 5:30 p.m. Saturday against Stanford at Hilton Coliseum in Ames, Iowa, in a nationally televised contest on ESPN2.

“I am glad to finally know when, where and who so we can start our preparations,” said USD head coach Amy Williams. “We are excited to head to Ames. It provides an opportunity for a lot of the fans in the area to catch the game.”

The Coyotes (19-13), which earned an automatic bid by winning the Summit League Tournament six days ago, are the No. 15 seed in the Ames Region. Stanford (29-3) earned a No. 2 seed after winning the Pac 12 regular season championship.

Should South Dakota advance to the second round, the team will face the winner of the game immediately preceding it between No. 7 seed Iowa State (20-10) and No. 10 seed Florida State (20-11). That second-round contest would be played Monday at Hilton Coliseum. Iowa State beat South Dakota 88-72 in Ames back on Nov. 13.

USD and Stanford will meet for the first time. The two programs share one common opponent in South Dakota State. The Cardinal beat the Jackrabbits 80-60 in Puerto Vallarta, Mexico, on Nov. 28. The Coyotes beat SDSU 72-58 a week ago in the semifinal round of the Summit League Tournament.

“Stanford is extremely experienced and they have played a ton of tournament games,” said Williams. “They are going to be a tough foe. We understand that. But we are excited to game plan for another opponent and to have this opportunity to go and dance.”

South Dakota is making its first NCAA Division I Tournament appearance in its second year of eligibility. The Coyotes qualified for eight NCAA Tournaments at the Division II level.


The Iowa State women’s basketball team has been selected to play in its 15th NCAA Tournament, and eighth-straight tournament appearance. The 7th-seeded Cyclones will remain home to face Florida State in the first round Saturday, March 22 at 3 p.m. (CDT) in Ames, Iowa. The winning team will advance to play the winner of the other game, (2) Stanford vs. (15) South Dakota, on Monday.

Both first round games in Ames will be aired on ESPN2.

Iowa State (20-10) is one of just 13 teams nationally to earn NCAA Tournament berths eight years in a row. All 15 of the Cyclones’ tournament bids have come under the direction of Bill Fennelly.

The 2014 NCAA tournament marks the eighth time the Cyclones have hosted the Big Dance, and Iowa State is 10-3 all-time in the NCAA Tournament in Hilton Coliseum.

Florida State (20-11, 7-9 ACC) is led by First-Team All-ACC selection Natasha Howard. The forward is averaging 21.2 points and 9.3 rebounds this season.


The University of Iowa women’s basketball team has received an at-large berth into the NCAA Women’s Basketball Championships for the seventh-straight season. The 19th-ranked Hawkeyes (26-8, 11-5) are a No. 6 seed and will play No. 11 seed Marist (27-6, 18-2) from the Metro Atlantic Athletic Conference at approximately 7 p.m. (CT) on Sunday inside Carver-Hawkeye Arena. The game will be televised live on ESPN2. This will be the first ever meeting between the two schools.
This year marks Iowa’s 23rd trip to the NCAA Tournament. Head coach Lisa Bluder has led the Hawkeyes to 11 NCAA Tournament appearances in her 14 years at Iowa, including each of the last seven years. Iowa is the only Big Ten team, and one of only 14 teams in the country, to appear in the last seven NCAA Tournaments.
The Red Foxes of Marist earned a share of their 11th-straight MAAC regular season title this year and went on to claim their ninth-consecutive MAAC Tournament title (10th overall).
The Iowa City first/second round site is a part of the Louisville region. No. 3 Louisville will take on No. 14 Idaho in the first game on Sunday inside Carver-Hawkeye Arena at 4:30 p.m. (CT) on ESPN. Idaho (25-8, 15-1) is making its second consecutive tournament appearance after defeating Seattle University, 75-67, in the WAC Tournament championship game. Junior Stacey Barr was named the tournament’s MVP for a second year in a row.


The Nebraska women's basketball team earned the second-highest seed in school history, claiming the No. 4 seed in the NCAA Lincoln Regional when the 64-team NCAA Tournament field was announced on Monday night.

Nebraska's No. 4 seed ranked second only to NU's No. 1 seed in the Midwest Region in 2010. That Husker team advanced to the school's first NCAA Sweet 16.

The Huskers, who earned the Big Ten's automatic bid as the conference tournament champion, will travel to Pauley Pavilion in Los Angeles for the NCAA Tournament first and second rounds.
The Big Red will begin their NCAA Tournament run by battling No. 13 seed Fresno State (22-10 Overall, 13-5 Mountain West) on Saturday at 3 p.m. on ESPN2. The Bulldogs earned their second straight trip to the NCAA Tournament as the Mountain West champion. The other side of the bracket in Los Angeles will feature fifth-seeded NC State and No. 12 seed BYU. The Wolfpack and Cougars will square off on Saturday at 5:30 p.m.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KTIV Television Inc. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Kathy Clayton at (712) 239-4100 x209. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at