A Siouxland restaurant is named in the "Top Ten for Iowa's Best - KTIV News 4 Sioux City IA: News, Weather and Sports

A Siouxland restaurant is named in the "Top Ten for Iowa's Best Burger Contest"


AMES, Iowa (KTIV) - Where do you like to get your favorite burger?

Iowans submitted more than 9,600 nomination votes selecting the 2014 Top Ten restaurants and their burgers and The Ritz in Arnolds Park, Iowa made the list.

The Iowa Beef Industry Council and the Iowa Cattlemen’s Association counted the nominations that came in via online, texting and paper ballots.

Those getting the most nominations are (in alphabetical order):

Ankeny Diner, Ankeny

Big City Burgers & Greens, Des Moines

Brick City Grill, Ames

Elm’s Club, Creston

Ferg’s My Tighe’s, Grand Junction

First Street Grille, Keosauqua

Ride’s Bar & Grill, Fort Dodge

Sam’s Sodas and Sandwiches, Carroll

The Ritz, Arnolds Park

Zombie Burger, Des Moines

Iowa’s Best Burger contest now moves to the next stage. All Top Ten restaurants will be visited by judges who will evaluate the hamburgers based on taste, appearance, and proper serving temperature (160 degrees).

“We’re really happy to promote Iowa restaurants who do a great job of serving beef,” said ICA President Ed Greiman of Garner. “We have a lot in common. Cattle producers and local restaurants are both small business owners who have a great passion for food - either producing it or preparing it. And, both local restaurants and farmers are important to the economic well-being of hundreds of communities around the state.”

“Although we won’t announce Iowa’s Best Burger until the first week of May, we encourage everyone to stop at one of the Top Ten restaurants for a burger,” Brummett said. “Iowans have a very special place in their heart for burgers. The burger is the all-American classic served in almost every restaurant from the local café to the finest white tablecloth establishment.”

To continue to learn more about the contest, you can visit www.iabeef.org where you’ll find a map showing the locations of the Top Ten restaurants, or “friend” the Iowa Beef Council Facebook© page.

Last year, 61 Chop House Grille in Mediapolis took home the final prize. Winners in previous years are: 2012- Coon Bowl III in Coon Rapids; 2011- Rusty Duck in Dexter; and 2010-Sac County Cattle Company of Sac City.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KTIV Television Inc. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Kathy Clayton at (712) 239-4100 x209. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at fccinfo@fcc.gov.