Monona County in Iowa issues a burn ban - KTIV News 4 Sioux City IA: News, Weather and Sports

Monona County in Iowa issues a burn ban

State Fire Marshal Division State Fire Marshal Division

DES MOINES (KTIV) -  Monona County in Iowa is the first county in Siouxland to issue a burn ban.

Authorities said Monona County residents aren't allowed to burn in fields or ditches unless a permit by the local fire chief has been issued.

Warmer temperatures combined with strong winds and dry conditions lead to more brush and wild-land fires across the state.

Officials said these types of fires can pose a serious threat to lives and property.

The State Fire Marshal reminds people to keep in mind the following:

1. Check for county burn bans, city restrictions and with the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) Air Quality before conducting any open burning.

2. Never burn on dry and windy days.

3. Have water and tools on hand to extinguish anything that may escape the burn area.

4. Do NOT burn alone, always have another person with you.

5. Do NOT leave a fire unattended.

6. Call 911 immediately if a fire does get out of hand.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KTIV Television Inc. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Kathy Clayton at (712) 239-4100 x209. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at