Voters are going to the polls in the Nebraska primary - KTIV News 4 Sioux City IA: News, Weather and Sports

Voters are going to the polls in the Nebraska primary


DAKOTA CITY, Neb. (KTIV) - Months of campaign stops and speeches come down to Tuesday.

Voters are going to the polls in the Nebraska primary.

The most crowded contest is for the state's top job.

Because he took over mid-term for Senator Mike Johanns in 2005, Governor Dave Heineman is the longest serving governor in the state's history, serving two-and-a-half terms.

But, he's term-limited, leaving the field wide open.

They are state senators Tom Carlson and Beau McCoy, Attorney General Jon Bruning, State Auditor Mike Foley, Omaha businessman Pete Ricketts, and Omaha attorney Bryan Slone.

The winner will face Democrat Chuck Hassebrook, who runs unopposed.

Incumbent Congressman Jeff Fortenberry faces a challenge from Dennis Parker and Jessica Turek in District 1.

And in District 3, Incumbent Adrian Smith faces a challenge from Tom Brewer.

Voters will also narrow down the list of candidates from county.

Martin Rhode, Scott Love, Bill Rohde and Kevin Rohde.

There will be at least on Rhode on the ballot in November as voters get to pick two candidates.

Polls are open until 8 p.m.

KTIV's Kristen Johnson is following the races and will talk to the Dakota County Clerk and look at another important state race U.S. Senate.

We'll have the Primary Election Results as soon as they come in on News 4 and online.

Powered by WorldNow
All content © Copyright 2000 - 2014 WorldNow and KTIV Television Inc. All Rights Reserved.
For more information on this site, please read our Privacy Policy, Terms of Service and Mobile Privacy Policy & Terms of Service.

Persons with disabilities who need assistance with issues relating to the content of this station's public inspection file should contact Administrative Assistant Kathy Clayton at (712) 239-4100 x209. Questions or concerns relating to the accessibility of the FCC's online public file system should be directed to the FCC at 888-225-5322, at 888-835-5322 (TTY) or at